Facebook Messenger: How To Use The Secret Conversations And Secure Your Messages With Encryption

Facebook Messenger: How To Use The Secret Conversations And Secure Your Messages With Encryption

All of us, at some point in time or other, to share personal information with that special person we trust. When using encrypted messages, secrets will remain a secret. Facebook has deployed a new feature called “Secret Conversation” that allows you to send secret messages, end-to-end encrypted. The messages you send in secret conversations are meant for you and the other person – not someone else, not even Facebook.

Facebook Messenger: How to use the secret conversations and secure your messages with encryption

How to use Secret Conversations

When you start a message, it does not start a secret conversation. The secret conversation setting is disabled by default. This means, you must change the default setting to enable this feature. To start a secret conversation, follow these simple steps –

  1. Make sure you know that you have the latest version of Facebook Messenger app.
  2. Open Facebook Messenger. Tap the “i” icon you see in the upper right corner.
  3. Select Conversation in the list.
  4. Finally, select ” Enable “.

Now you can start secret conversations. It is always advisable to use end-to-end encryption because it ensures greater security. Talk about this feature, Facebook says – “We’ve heard from you that there are times when you want additional warranties – can Being when reviewing private information like an illness or a health problem with trusted friends and family, or sending financial information to an accountant.” Looks like Facebook took these comments seriously and actually implemented end-to-end encryption for messages.

How to check that your conversation is encrypted

The two people in the secret conversation will have access to a device key that they can compare to verify that the messages are actually end-to-end encrypted. Just because you do not check does not mean that the messages are not encrypted. Your messages will be encrypted if you compare the keys on the device. To display the device keys of a conversation –

  1. Start / open an existing conversation with someone.
  2. Press the name above.
  3. Press buttons of the device .
  4. Compare your device key with the key of the device to the other person.

If the device keys match, this means that you have verified that the messages are encrypted from end to end.

How to remove all secret conversations

If you, however, choose to delete all conversations on your device, you can do so. Just to mention, deleting a message or conversation on your device obviously does not delete the device from the other person. To delete all secret conversations from your device, follow these steps –

  1. Press the profile icon. Then press Secret Conversations.
  2. Tap Delete Secret Conversations.
  3. Press Delete All.

If you want to delete messages that you send after a specific time period, you can also set a timer so that your messages disappear from the conversation. You can do this by tapping the timer icon in the text box and setting the timer to make the message disappear. Once the time is up, messages will disappear from devices of all users who are part of the chat.

Lucid Kit

Related Posts
Leave a reply
Captcha Click on image to update the captcha .